On Improvement

A poem written in the Heathrow departure hall, my first attempt at some free verse.

On Improvement

I love to learn, to improve, but
How scared of criticism I am!
Why am I scared to compete and
Put my rating and ranking at risk?

The only way to become the best
is to participate and seek feedback
To put what you have done underneath a spotlight
and see if it has been found wanting

How scared I am to offer my opinion
On the topics of the day.
How scared that someone may disagree,
that is may be wrong or ignorant.

But sometimes I take solace that
wisdom is sometimes knowing what you do not,
But is that always so?
Does occasionally one need to choose a side?

A vow to be brave, I shall make,
to no longer be a comrade to fear.
To put my talents and work for others to survey,
That it may be improved and made stronger.

Leave a comment